Image: Craggy Range, Hawke’s Bay

New Zealand’s oldest wine region

Hawke’s Bay is New Zealand’s oldest wine region and second largest. There are over 90 wineries and 150 grape growers within the region, which produces a huge chunk of the national vintage.

Hawkes Bay is blessed with breathtakingly beautiful rivers, which for centuries have carved their way across the landscape and left in their wake the perfect mix of soils for growing grapes. Best known for its red blends, Chardonnay and Syrah, Hawke’s Bay’s cooler, inland sites at higher altitude is where the region’s Pinot Noir flourishes.

Ultra-approachable Pinot Noir

Expect aromatics of cherry, berry fruits, plum, florals and spice, through to more savoury and earthy examples, all ultra-approachable with beautifully soft and supple tannins and great richness of flavour.

Getting there (and what to do while you’re there):

Located on the east coast of New Zealand’s North Island, Hawke’s Bay is accessible by driving, flying and cruise ship. Air New Zealand flies to Hawke’s Bay daily from Wellington, Auckland and Christchurch so whichever your international arrival port, it’s an easy flight into the heart of the North Island’s wine country.

The region offers a plethora of ways to experience the highly-accoladed wines of the region, from well-developed cycle trails, to architecture and wine tours in classic cars. The diversity in winestyles is matched by the diversity in landscape, as the region’s wineries and tasting rooms are scattered throughout plains, mountain peaks and valleys, and coastal cliffs. Wine and food is a way of life in Hawke’s Bay, celebrated with festivals, markets, and events throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.